If Your Driver’s License is Suspended…
If your driver’s license has been suspended and you still need to drive to work, pick up the kids, take care of someone who is disabled or elderly, buy groceries or drive for any other essential needs, we can help you get your Occupational Driver’s License.
We can handle everything for you and help you obtain an occupational driver’s license that will allow you to drive for work, school, household duties and other “essential needs” if your license has been suspended. The rules for obtaining an ODL vary somewhat depending on your particular circumstances, and they can be complex. In addition, the law was updated recently (effective September 1, 2015), and many people are unfamiliar with the new law’s advantages and disadvantages. Attempting to get an occupational license yourself can be a costly mistake.
Do not wait to obtain your Occupational License. Driving with a suspended license is a crime!!!
If you are pulled over while your license is suspended, you will get a DWLI (Driving While License Invalid) ticket or worse. However, if you have an ODL, you will not receive a ticket so long as you are driving within the parameters of the ODL. Do not risk it. Get an Occupational Driver’s License today. Check your license eligibility now on the Texas DPS website.
We can work on reinstating your Texas driver’s license, but in the meantime, you should maintain your driving privileges to maintain your job, your family and your life through an Occupational Driver’s License. Have an experienced lawyer obtain the ODL for you and save yourself the hassle and get it done fast and right.
Steps to Applying for an Occupational License
1. Determining Your Driver’s License Suspension
The first step to obtaining an Occupational License is to know why your Texas Driver’s License has been suspended in the first place. Certain types of suspensions require different remedies and documents to obtain an Occupational License.
You’ll also want to know how long your suspension is for, since Occupational Licenses are only valid for up to two years (although we can extend it, if needed).
We can usually give you a pretty good idea over the phone as to what you may need to start driving legally, but you can also check with Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to be certain, by calling DPS directly at 512-424-2600, or by visiting https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/dlreinstatement/login.do.
2. Next, you’ll want to figure out how you want to use your Occupational License.
You can use an Occupational License for up to 12 hours per day, 7 days a week, but only to go 1) to and from work, 2) to drive during your job, if your employer requires it, 3) to and from school or classes, and 4) for daily household chores and duties, such as driving to the bank, laundry mat, doctor’s office, grocery shopping, daycare, children’s school for pickup and drop-off, emergencies, and other required trips that you may do on a regular basis.
In addition to the locations and times above, an Occupational Driver’s License also restricts the counties in which you can drive. DPS requires each county within Texas that you drive in to be specifically listed on the Occupational License, so it’s important to determine where you’ll need to drive.
3. Gather Your Documents and get SR22 Insurance.
So what do you need ahead of time? Before we can get into Court, you’ll need to gather a few things that we can take to the hearing and show to the Judge. So, what do you need? We’ve listed the most common items below, but CALL US since certain counties require different documents (so you might not need to gather all of these):
- SR22 Auto Insurance
SR22 is a statewide insurance component that is added to your normal insurance. All SR22 does is mandates that your insurance carrier notifies DPS if you lapse in the policy, meaning if you don’t pay. SR22 insurance is the only insurance accepted for Occupational Licenses in Texas.
- Driving Record
You’ll need your driving record from DPS
- Letter from Employer or School Schedule/Enrollment
You’ll need proof that you need to drive for work or school
- Notarized Petition for an Occupational Driver’s License
How Much Will an Occupational License Cost You?
There are a few different costs associated with an Occupational License:
- County Filing Fees:
Harris County charges approximately $250 to file an Occupational License with the County Clerk. All Occupational Licenses must be filed with the Clerk, and certified.
- DPS Reinstatement Fees:
Reinstatement Fees vary from person to person, depending on the driving record and type of suspension. As a general rule, the reinstatement fee is $100, or $125 after a DWI. More tickets leading to a suspension means more Reinstatement Fees. You can check your Reinstatement Fees through DPS by visiting their website https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/dleligibility/login.do or calling DPS directly at 512-424-2600.
- DPS Occupational License Fee:
This is approximately $10 per year fee paid to DPS.
- Attorney’s Fees:
We offer low, competitive rates for Occupational Licenses. Call us today for a Free Consultation and Quote.
How long is the Occupational Driver’s License valid?
Your Occupational Driver’s License is typically valid through the period of suspension, but you may need to get the license renewed. Additionally, the certified copy of the Order for an Occupational Driver’s License that you will receive after the Occupational Driver’s License Attorney has gone to court for you is valid for only 45 days (under the old law, it was only 30 days). So you will need to send in the Order as soon as possible to DPS so that they can issue you your “permanent” Occupational Driver’s License.
Contact The Huff Law Firm now at 713-562-8700 (24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week) to discuss obtaining an Occupational Driver’s License. We will go over every step of the process in detail and what specifically you will need to do to start driving legally again.
The Huff Laws Firm’s Other Services
Cases We Handle
- FREE CONSULTATION
- EXPLAIN TEXAS LAWS AT ISSUE
- DEVELOPE LEGAL STRATEGY
- CONDUCT AN INVESTIGATION
- RESOLVE CASES QUICKLY AND COST EFFECTIVELY
What Client’s Say
Mr. Korey Huff is an outstanding and trustworthy attorney.. He was very passionate and professional. He always kept me informed about All communications he had with outside attorneys. He only accepted an agreement that he thought was reasonable and fair… If you want a strong and dedicated attorney to represent you, then I recommend Korey Huff. Thanks Korey for all your hard work and fighting for your client! Houston Texas
Very good attorney. Was there for 2 of my cases(same offense) and both worked out in my favor. Reasonable price, very professional, all around good to work with.
Korey Huff is such a great attorney. We made several resets for my case and he managed to get my case settled with the best outcome I could have ever imagined! He is also very reasonable and tells you exactly what you can expect through this process. I highly recommend Mr. Huff and if the need arise (which I hope not!), I wouldn’t hesitate to hire him again.
If it wasn’t for Korey Huff I would be in jail!! He helped me win my case!! He is a Very Outspoken Amazing Attorney! Great Attitude and Very Polite! His services are worth every penny! I Most Definitely recommend him to represent you!
I got arrested for POM. I decided to start calling around and found Korey. Korey was willing to help me out with my payments for him and talked me through me case at every court session. He has a very caring aspect to him and he is good at what he does. He had got my case dismissed after getting a bargain with the prosecutor. I would most definitely hire Korey again. I feel like he worked a…
Got a dwi my bac came back 3 times the legal limit . Came out with 1 year probation, no community service ! . Very satisfied with his work and his price !!